Notifying Users

There are really three ways to notify users of updates to articles:

  1. Attestation, where a user is required not only to read the article but sign an acknowledgment they read the article.
  2. The Send To action, which is described below, and just sends a link to the article to one or more users.
  3. Subscriptions, where users can subscribe to an article and will then automatically get notified when articles update or when checklists are completed. This is also described below.

We'll describe the latter two below.

Send To

You can easily send any article to a group or individual user. You do this from the dropdown menu by selecting "Send To".

This will show a form like this, where you can select precisely who the article will be sent to:You can select one or multiple users, you can also send to all users in a specific department, user group, or you can send to All Staff.

Once you click OK, it will automatically notify and send an email to each of those users, with a link back to the article you are viewing.

Note: If you want to require the users to acknowledge the page, use the Request Acknowledgement action.

Checklists

If the article you are sending has a checklist, then the option "Require Checklist Completion" will be enabled. When this is set to Yes then it will effectively require that user to complete that article's checklist. It will assign the first checklist entry to each user that was selected. Once assigned, it will be highlighted in the system for that user, appear in their dashboard and they will be reminded to complete that checklist through their reminder emails. This feature can be useful to get staff members to complete certain checklists, such as a survey for example.

You can also learn about scheduling checklists using this same form, by clicking here.

Subscriptions

Users can also choose to be notified automatically when articles are updated, or if new articles are inserted under that article somewhere, or if shared checklists are completed.

To do this, they will go to the action menu and choose Subscribe. On that screen you can choose whether to subscribe to article updates, checklist updates or both. Once they confirm their subscription, from that point on they will receive email notifications of updates to articles they are subscribed to, and any child articles below that article.

They can perform the same operation to unsubscribe from an article. They go to Subscribe, then uncheck the "Subscribe" checkbox to remove their subscription.

Note: You will only be notified of checklist activity for shared checklists. Private checklists are kept private.


Next Topic:
v4.2.0.10261
Up Since 8/18/2022 5:49:18 PM